writing

The joys of being a writer

I’m setting up this blog to follow my adventures in writing. After reading and rereading the Writers and Artists Yearbook 2014 it had become apparent that virtually all writers are meant to have their own blogs and since I did not yet have one I thought I had better get onto it pronto. So here it is. I have just self published my young adult novel The City of the Broken as an e-book on Kindle Direct Publishing, after reading an article about an author in a magazine who self published online and as a result of the popularity of the book eventually got a literary agent and publisher this way.

I was always incredibly cynical about self publishing if I’m honest, but that was before I learned of the wonders of e-books. The free service makes your book available worldwide at the click of a mouse, so I figured that I had nothing to lose. I’ve priced my book at $0.99 which I’ve gleaned from the Yearbook is the best thing to do for unknown authors seeking to find readership. But on the whole, I’m pleasantly surprised at the wonders of self-publishing which I always thought cost a great deal of money and yielded no obvious return. But that was before the Age of the Internet and the Kindle.

I have also just entered Authonmy’s First Lines Competition. Judged on your opening line alone, the winner will get to discuss their manuscript at HarperCollins’ office.

I’m in the process of writing the second book in The City of the Broken trilogy. I have written 55,000 words so far, with at least 20,000 more to go. But I’m loving every minute of it!

Standard

2 thoughts on “The joys of being a writer

Leave a Reply

