Uncategorized

Step away from the computer!

 

So I had been sitting at my PC for hours, waiting for inspiration to strike…and nothing. True writer’s block in every sense of the word. I wrote a couple of bleak and bland sentences to try and break the drout by forcing myself to write something, but they were so uninteresting that I found myself giving up and shutting down my computer without having written even a hundred words. It is times like these that every writer dreads.

As soon as the computer was off however, the ideas flowed like some enchanted waterfall. I got a pen and paper(remember those old things?) and conceived an idea for a new novel that excites me in a way no other project I have come up with before has!
And it was all because I gave myself a moment to reflect and let go of the pressure of having to write something. You should try it! The next time you find yourself staring hopelessly at a blank page word document, switch your computer off…and who knows? You might actually come up with something good!

 

By the way, in between those braindead ‘I don’t know what to write moments’ and conceiving my top secret new novel idea, I did manage to find time to write this for Diane Debella’s Iamsubject project…check it out on her website:

http://www.iamsubject.com/iamsubject-project-media-detox/

Standard

Leave a comment